CHILDREN’S TOYS   7 comments

I saw this doll at an estate sale a few years ago and immediately fell in love.  Isn’t she beautiful?  Anyway, I hope she was well-loved way back when.  By the way, I don’t know anything about her and there are no markings, so if you do, please tell me!

Click here for a larger view

Posted April 27, 2012 by Madelaine in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

7 responses to “CHILDREN’S TOYS

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. beautiful post, I once went to an antique doll show in Paris and learned that if you can say what material the head is made of ‘paper maché’ ‘porcelain/bisque’ or a material referred to as ‘composition’ there are others I cannot remember,only that if you can say, you are well on your way to identifying her origins, age, etc. Her make-up must be a big clue…she is so lovely

    • Thank you Lynn. I did some web searching and came up with THIS the clothing is very similar and in THIS one the face is very similar……I’m getting warmer at least! lol

  2. I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder 🙂 ….great shot though…you captured the detail perfectly

  3. Love this image!

  4. Wonderful!

  5. I’ve always been a bit creeped out by dolls but this is a great shot and I hope you find more about it.

  6. Such a pretty doll. I’m no expert either but it looks like one from the 1940’s and someone has spruced it up with red paint along the way. Glad you saved this little girl.

I'd love to know what you think........

