CROWDED   8 comments

At first glance you might be wondering what’s going on in this image.  Well, believe it or not, it’s a crowded nursery of cormorants! I’m seeing them everywhere I go now!!!  lol  Enlarge the photo and check out all the nests in the trees. Anyway, this tiny artificial island is known as U THANT ISLAND, named after former United Nations Secretary General U Thant.  It sits in the East River in New York, across from the United Nations and turns out to be a protected sanctuary for birds including a small colony of Double-crested Cormorants.

Click here for a larger view

~

Yesterday morning I got up early to go down to the Hudson River and get some pics of the Space Shuttle Enterprise gliding along the river to it’s final resting place on the USS Intrepid.  After getting scolded by a security guard for being where I shouldn’t (no surprise there lol) and finally finding just the perfect spot right across from the Intrepid, I set up my tripod and waited.  And waited and waited and waited……. The security guard was driving by and stopped to tell me that it had been CANCELLED!!!! I thought he was kidding! Turns out he wasn’t.  They’ve re-scheduled it for this morning but I’m not able to get there. So I decided to get some random shots and what do I see?  A cormorant…..they’re everywhere I tell you, everywhere!  lol  Looking for breakfast no less!  So enjoy the slideshow of the Double-Crested Cormorant fishing for breakfast.  At least it wasn’t a total waste!

 

Cormorant nearly bites off more than it can chew< < check it out



 BREAKFAST WITH A CORMORANT

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted June 6, 2012 by Madelaine in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

8 responses to “CROWDED

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fantastic fishers.

  2. Fab – u – lous!!!!!! I just loved seeing your slide show thought your photos were amazing, and your photo was great as well.

  3. Great slideshow…but they don’t half sit low in the water eh!!!

  4. well that was a fun slide show…super to watch and that there is a sanctuary in the city is exceptional and great to see…

  5. Great slide show!

  6. Like the U Thant Island photo, but your slide show is great!!

  7. OMG…I can’t believe all the nests in that one tree!!!!!

  8. Beautiful!!

I'd love to know what you think........

