THE STREET   12 comments

This is the last cobblestone street in a town that shall remain nameless.  Rumor has it that when there were more than one of these streets in the not too distant past, a relative of  one of the local politicians went undercover of night and cleared them of all the original red cobblestones for his property in another state.  I wasn’t a witness to this dastardly deed but knowing the person…….I cannot say with certainty it isn’t beyond the realm of possibility.  😯

Click here for a larger view

Posted August 17, 2012 by Madelaine in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

12 responses to “THE STREET

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Follow the Yellow Brick Road!. Follow the Yellow Brick Road!. We’re off……….

  2. I love cobblestone streets, I hope they fix this one up soon, nice shot

  3. When these are paved over it is such a loss.

  4. Hope it will be maintained. Beautiful shot!

  5. There’s so much beauty in those old pavers, and the filtered sunlight you shot them through really enhances it! Great photo!

    When some of the asphalt broke on the sidewalk in front of my previous house, I noticed cobblestones underneath. It took me close to a year, but I started my own restoration process, removing the rest of the asphalt by sledgehammering the tar/asphalt top layer and removing it one piece at a time. Lots of work, but the end result made it seem worthwhile.

    • WOW……that was a lot of work……I bet it was awesome when you were finished though! Also bet you had great biceps and shoulder muscles too! 🙂

  6. I like the character of cobblestone streets. We had a cobblestone stone street at my previous home.

I'd love to know what you think........

