X FACTOR   6 comments

I pass this railroad crossing sign several times a week.  One day, I saw a group of monk parakeets building a nest in it.  As I was coming home yesterday, there was no traffic, so I decided to stop and photograph it, when I was graced by the unexpected appearance of one of the birds!  If I didn’t know better, I’d think he/she was posing for me!!!

UH OH – HERE’S WHAT HAPPENED A FEW FEET AWAY FROM THIS SIGN A COUPLE OF WEEKS AFTER THIS POST:

Monk parakeet nest in Leonia causes power outage for 3,400

Click here for a larger view

Posted November 12, 2012 by Madelaine in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

6 responses to “X FACTOR

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nothing Prouder than Posing Parrots. Love it and their nest selection.

  2. This post illustrates everything i LOVE about your blog: clever post titles and interesting, offbeat photo subjects!
    Fantastic all around…even the parakeet must agree! 🙂

  3. Talk about timing to get that special xfactor….this is AWESOME!!!

  4. He/she must be posing to emphasize the x-factor. Fantastic capture.

  5. Great picture! The parakeet look as if he or she was looking at you too : )
    What a nest!

  6. that’s a creative home…

I'd love to know what you think........

