EXCITEMENT   13 comments

So you’re probably wondering why the George Washington Bridge is being featured under the ‘excitement’ theme.  Trust me, there’s a reasonably sound explanation!   Some years ago, I was dating someone who used to think out of the box in a lot of ways.  One evening, we were out and after dinner he drove to the walkway entrance of the GWB.  On the way, I kept asking where we were going but his only answer was ‘You’ll see’.  When we pulled up to the Bridge I was REALLY confused!  ‘Come on, let’s go’ as he opened my door.  ‘Where to?’ I asked.  ‘Just follow me’ was his answer.  So, being the dutiful girlfriend, I followed him and we wound up ON the Bridge!   I hadn’t even known there was a walkway across the bridge then.  Anyway, we walked to just about the middle of the Bridge and he stopped and asked me if I wanted to dance.  At that moment I thought he was completely deranged and momentarily thought I should run for my life but how could I refuse such a charming offer?  He began to sing (I really wish I could remember the name of the song) and we danced under the moonlight on a beautiful summer night on the George Washington Bridge.  It was very exciting, wildly romantic and absolutely magical!  And that’s the story of how the Great Gray Bridge ended up under this theme!  The End 😉  PS – Best date ever!!

Click here for a larger view

Posted November 26, 2012 by Madelaine in Photography by Madelaine Cappuccio

13 responses to “EXCITEMENT

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A strong photograph… and a wonderful story…

    Galen

  2. Great story 🙂

  3. Madelaine – Nice sepia touch to the old GWB. Glad you danced rather than taking the plunge like so many scorned politicos.

  4. Good Morning, Madelaine……..Very nice email…..you should send this story to a movie producer to incorporate this scene into

    a romantic film…….

    Rich

  5. Great story! Wonderful image!

  6. Beautiful photo and wonderful story!

  7. So very beautiful story!

  8. Beautiful bridge and even lovelier story!!

  9. Wow that’s an amazing photo!

  10. Yeah but what about the dancers??????

  11. Great story and an awesome view of the bridge! Like the B/W too….

I'd love to know what you think........

